Historical Football Kits



Formed 1886

Elected to Division Two 1898. Failed re-election 1915

Kit History




Glossop North End



1896-1897 c







1898-1900 c e

1904-1905 b

1906-1907 c

1907-1910 c e f

glossop fc 1910-14

1910-1914 g

glossop fc 1914-15

1914-1915 h

glossop afc 1915-16

1915-1916 a c f



glossop afc 1906-07Glossop were founded in 1886 as Glossop North End FC. After two season of playing friendly matches, the club entered the North Cheshire League in 1890 and introduced professional players in 1894. In 1898 on their third application they were admitted to the Football League without a vote when the league was extended and they won promotion in their first season. They spent one year in the First Division, having dropped the "North End" from their name. Glossop won only four matches and finished in last place, nine points adrift of Burnley who were also relegated.

For two seasons, Glossop finished in respectable positions near the top of Division Two but then they started to drift and were forced to apply for re-relection in 1904. In 1909 and 1910 there were signs of revival but it was not sustained. In 1915 Glossop received a single vote in the re-election process and shortly afterwards, the club was disbanded for the duration of the Great War.

After the war ended, Glossop were reformed by Oswald Partington: he had captained the side in the 1890s and was now a Member of Parliament. The club played in the Lancashire Combination and the Manchester League. In 1955 they moved from their original League ground at North Road to their present ground at Surrey Street. Since then they have played in the Lancashire Combination, the Manchester League and the Cheshire League before becoming founder Members of the Bass North West Counties League.

After nearly going out of business in 1991, the club was reconstituted and reverted to its original name of Glossop North End.

You are welcome to Contact Me with corrections and additions.


  • (a) Simon Monks
  • (b) Picture the Past
  • (c) Rejected FC (Dave Twydell 1989) - information provided by Greger Lindberg.
  • (d) Pete Hurn
  • (e) Association of Football Statisticians - provided by Pete Wyatt
  • (f) Rejected FC (Dave Twydell 1989) - information provided by Pete Wyatt.
  • (g) Keith Ellis
  • (h) Colorsports